Menu
/REGISTER
MB&T
Community West
PCBT House Banner
Loading...
You are here:  Home  >  Opinion  >  Editorials

Santa Barbara Web Design
Latest

Impact of Diablo Canyon closure needs studying

By   /  Friday, April 29th, 2016  /  Editorials, Latest news, Opinion  /  No Comments

Diablo Canyon Nuclear Plant near San Luis Obispo County’s Avila Beach is the last operating nuclear plant on the West Coast. (photo courtesy of PG&E Corp.)

We didn’t pull any punches when we wrote about California’s war on business in the April 22 edition of the Business Times. For a classic example of the kind of thinking that’s just wrong about California’s path forward, it’s worth looking at opposition to SB 968. Introduced by Sen. Bill Monning, a Democrat from Santa Read More →

Read More →
Latest

California must end war on businesses

By   /  Friday, April 22nd, 2016  /  Editorials, Latest news, Opinion  /  1 Comment

gmc_logo_transparent

We’ve had the war on women. And the war on immigrants. Is the war on business, next? That’s a fair question raised by many, including Ventura employer General Magnaplate Corp., which is closing after settling with the Environmental Defense Center over charges it polluted the Santa Clara River. In a statement, the company said it Read More →

Read More →
Latest

Rush developed CSUCI into source of pride

By   /  Friday, April 15th, 2016  /  Editorials, Latest news, Opinion  /  No Comments

CSU Channel Islands President Richard Rush

Call him the Socrates of Camarillo. That’s the clever phrase used by Sage Publications CEO Blaze Simqu in tribute to outgoing CSU Channel Islands President Richard Rush. And while the line got a big laugh from the 900 people who attended Rush’s retirement dinner in Simi Valley on April 9, it is more than a Read More →

Read More →
Latest

New adviser rules may bolster retirement plans

By   /  Friday, April 8th, 2016  /  Editorials, Latest news, Opinion  /  No Comments

choosing-a-financial-advisor3-worksheet-2.s600x600-e9ff87ad

New rules for financial planners advising retirement plans and Health Savings Accounts could have an unexpected benefit for small businesses. The rules, from the U.S. Department of Labor, place new “fiduciary” responsibilities on financial advisers and consultants. They must pick the most economical plans – without regard to their own compensation — when advising clients. Read More →

Read More →
Latest

Forcing workers to save may be key to retirement

By   /  Friday, April 1st, 2016  /  Editorials, Latest news, Opinion  /  No Comments

4 editorial web

Taxes and savings are much in the news these days. Baby boomers aren’t saving enough for retirement. Millennials will need $2 million portfolios in order to achieve a decent level of retirement income. Federal income taxes are too high – and don’t get us started about California. Old-fashioned pensions are largely gone from the private Read More →

Read More →
Latest

Tacky chamber move sets a bad example

By   /  Friday, March 25th, 2016  /  Editorials, Latest news, Opinion  /  1 Comment

Henry Dubroff

When we launched the Pacific Coast Business Times 16 years ago, one of our core values was to respect existing business organizations. That’s why we went the extra step and joined chambers of commerce from the Conejo Valley to San Luis Obispo. We continue to support our chambers and last year we became a media Read More →

Read More →
Latest

Volunteerism ‘shapes community we share’

By   /  Friday, March 18th, 2016  /  Editorials, Latest news, Opinion  /  Comments Off on Volunteerism ‘shapes community we share’

Henry Dubroff

In business, we measure success by revenue growth, rising profits, share prices and transactions closed. But in communities across the Tri-Counties, successful leadership is often defined by measures less tangible. That point was brought home on March 9 when we stopped by the Santa Barbara Foundation’s 73rd annual Man and Woman of the Year luncheon. Read More →

Read More →