April 2, 2024
You are here:  Home  >  Latest news  >  Current Article

Champions in Health Care to take part in panel discussion


The Business Times is pleased to announce our 2017 class of Champions in Health Care award winners. This annual special section published with the May 19 print edition.

The award winners will participate in a panel discussion surrounding our 2017 theme: The aging population and elder care. The 2017 Champions in Health Care Summit, including a luncheon and panel, will take place Thursday, June 22 at the Topa Tower Club in Oxnard. Click here for tickets.

Amgen Foundation President, Eduardo Cetlin, will keynote this year’s summit.

There were 10 champion winners this year. They are:

Grand Champion

— Lynda Tanner, president and CEO, Visiting Nurse & Hospice Care

Home Health Innovation Champion

— Dr. Michael Bordofsky, co-founder, DASH

Nonprofit Champion

— Sylvia Taylor-Stein, executive director, Long Term Care Services of Ventura County Ombudsman Program

Champion in Research

— Dennis Clegg, co-founder, Regenerative Patch Technologies

Champion in Nursing

— Tuyet Nguyen, Service Area Director for Care Coordination, Marian Regional Medical Center

Champion Physician

— Dr. Susan Ziemba, Internal Medicine, Pacific Central Coast Health Centers

Champion Volunteer

— Sharon Bick, board member, Alzheimer’s Association California Central Chapter

Champion Administrator

— Leslie-Lynn Pawson, co-director, Palliative Medicine Center at Ventura County Health Care Agency

Champion in Mental Health Care

— Dr. Dennis Plesons, psychiatrist, Sansum Clinic

Champion in Underserved Care

— Dr. Lanyard Dial, president and CEO, Livingston Memorial Visiting Nurse Association