Menu
/REGISTER
Montecito
Nixon Peabody
HWC
Loading...
You are here:  Home  >  Opinion
Latest

Letter to the Editor: We must make the region welcoming to all

By   /  Friday, January 15th, 2021  /  Latest news, Letters to the Editor, Opinion  /  No Comments

Dear Editor, I was quite dismayed to read the high-tech trends article from earlier this month regarding new opportunities with remote working (“Five tech business trends to watch in 2021,” Dec. 31, 2020). A source in the article suggested that with this new flexibility, tech companies could establish their headquarters in the region and “CEOs, Read More →

Read More →
Latest

Opinion: Your brand is your face to the world

By   /  Friday, January 15th, 2021  /  Latest news, Op/Eds, Opinion  /  No Comments

By Erika Schlomer-Fischer If there is one lesson to be learned during this challenging time, it is to embrace core values and meaning in our lives. We have been forced to reassess and reprioritize. In the business world, we have the opportunity to reconsider value creation and meaning for our customers. It is a good Read More →

Read More →
Latest

Our View: Mike Garcia should step up, or step down

By   /  Tuesday, January 12th, 2021  /  Editorials, Latest news, Opinion  /  No Comments

Take the high road. That is our advice to U.S. Rep Mike Garcia, R-Santa Clarita, who owes his constituents in Ventura County and elsewhere a better answer than he has given for his decision to vote for overturning November’s election results even after the Capitol was invaded by rioters. Garcia won re-election in November by Read More →

Read More →
Latest

Our View: No excuse for Garcia’s anti-democratic behavior

By   /  Friday, January 8th, 2021  /  Editorials, Latest news, Opinion  /  No Comments

The civil war within the Republican party arrived at the edge of the Tri-Counties, when recently re-elected U.S. Rep. Mike Garcia, R-Santa Clarita, said he would oppose the certification of Joe Biden as president-elect. “I do believe there is enough evidence of compromised processes and breakdowns in election integrity by certain state legislatures that do Read More →

Read More →
Latest

Our View: State’s virus response plagued by bureaucratic bumbling

By   /  Friday, January 8th, 2021  /  Editorials, Latest news, Opinion  /  No Comments

What’s really frustrating for Central Coast business owners is the way California continues to be heavy on tax and regulation and light on services and delivery. The state’s COVID-19 response has put businesses through the ringer time and again, with opening and closing and reopening orders. Now that things are out of control again, the Read More →

Read More →
Latest

Opinion: Ventura County supervisors are taking our energy jobs

By   /  Friday, January 8th, 2021  /  Energy, Latest news, Op/Eds, Opinion  /  No Comments

By Kelly Stater Throughout the fall, a broad coalition of union members, business leaders, energy workers, contractors, mineral owners, and other community partners spoke out against an unprecedented plan to politicize zoning decisions in Ventura County through the county’s so-called “update” process to its General Plan. Despite this broad opposition, the Board of Supervisors moved Read More →

Read More →
Latest

Opinion: How to profit safely as a landlord to cannabis companies

By   /  Friday, January 8th, 2021  /  Latest news, Law, Op/Eds, Opinion  /  No Comments

By Josh Rabinowitz and Jack Ucciferri With dozens of jurisdictions in California having recently approved initiatives to tax and/or regulate cannabis, a wave of commercial real estate owners up and down the state are already in, or about to enter into, negotiations with would-be marijuana-related business (MRB) tenants. Those landlords will be acutely aware that Read More →

Read More →