Menu
Montecito
American Riviera
Loading...
You are here:  Home  >  Opinion
Latest

Our View: Redistricting shakes up Central Coast politics

By   /  Friday, January 21st, 2022  /  Editorials, Government, Latest news, Opinion, Subscriber content  /  Comments Off on Our View: Redistricting shakes up Central Coast politics

This article is only available to Business Times subscribers Subscribers: LOG IN or REGISTER for complete digital access. Not a Subscriber? SUBSCRIBE for full access to our weekly newspaper, online edition and Book of Lists. Check the STATUS of your Subscription Account.

Read More →
Latest

Opinion: Supreme Court vaccine rulings hold more questions than answers for employers

By   /  Tuesday, January 18th, 2022  /  Central Coast Health Watch, Latest news, Law, Op/Eds, Opinion  /  Comments Off on Opinion: Supreme Court vaccine rulings hold more questions than answers for employers

By Ryan Haws On Jan. 13, as COVID-19 cases across the nation surged to seemingly omnipresent levels, a divided United States Supreme Court issued two key orders affecting President Joe Biden’s “Path Out of the Pandemic” action plan.  The first order belatedly held that the Occupational Safety and Health Administration exceeded its authority with its Read More →

Read More →
Latest

Our View: It’s time to take retail crime seriously

By   /  Friday, January 14th, 2022  /  Editorials, Latest news, Law, Opinion  /  Comments Off on Our View: It’s time to take retail crime seriously

The tri-county region counts on low crime rates as a foundation for the claim that it is a terrific, if expensive, place to work and live. That’s why Staff Writer Brooke Holland’s front-page story on retail crime in the current edition of Pacific Coast Business Times is worth a close look — and worth action Read More →

Read More →
Latest

Opinion: Top 10 pandemic hopes for 2022

By   /  Friday, January 14th, 2022  /  Central Coast Health Watch, Latest news, Op/Eds, Opinion  /  Comments Off on Opinion: Top 10 pandemic hopes for 2022

By Ritch Eich Pandemic fatigue is a real thing. I’m tired of the pandemic, you’re tired of the pandemic, people the world over are tired of the pandemic. But COVID-19 continues to harass us, and no one knows when the pandemic will end. In the meantime, let’s do what we can to make life better, Read More →

Read More →
Latest

Our View: Deja vu as 2022 begins, but with some big differences

By   /  Friday, January 7th, 2022  /  Central Coast Health Watch, Editorials, Latest news, Opinion  /  Comments Off on Our View: Deja vu as 2022 begins, but with some big differences

We begin 2022 as we ended 2021, with the newest variant of the virus dominating the headlines. As the Business Times goes to press on its first edition of the year, it is back to the future, as most meetings and live events have moved to virtual. Virtual meetings are a poor substitute for in-person, Read More →

Read More →
Latest

Our View: Air travel among the region’s bright spots in 2021

By   /  Wednesday, December 22nd, 2021  /  Editorials, Latest news, Opinion, South Coast, Subscriber content, Tourism, Tri-County Economy  /  Comments Off on Our View: Air travel among the region’s bright spots in 2021

This article is only available to Business Times subscribers Subscribers: LOG IN or REGISTER for complete digital access. Not a Subscriber? SUBSCRIBE for full access to our weekly newspaper, online edition and Book of Lists. Check the STATUS of your Subscription Account.

Read More →
Latest

Our View: An entrepreneurial legend moves on from Inogen

By   /  Friday, December 17th, 2021  /  Editorials, Government, Latest news, Opinion, Technology, Women Inc.  /  Comments Off on Our View: An entrepreneurial legend moves on from Inogen

Among the rock stars of the Central Coast innovation culture, Inogen co-founder Ali Bauerlein will always be near the top of our list. It was her grandmother’s health problems that sparked the idea for a new type of oxygen concentrator more than 20 years ago. And Bauerlein followed the company from an award-winning student business Read More →

Read More →