Menu
/REGISTER
Montecito
Nixon Peabody
Pac Premier
Loading...
You are here:  Home  >  Opinion
Latest

Our view: NIMBYism is ‘a moral failing’

By   /  Friday, April 16th, 2021  /  Latest news, Opinion, Subscriber content  /  No Comments

This article is only available to Business Times subscribers Subscribers: LOG IN or REGISTER for complete digital access. Not a Subscriber? SUBSCRIBE for full access to our weekly newspaper, online edition and Book of Lists. Check the STATUS of your Subscription Account.

Read More →
Latest

Our View: Southwest’s arrival will give region’s flyers a big lift

By   /  Friday, April 9th, 2021  /  Editorials, Latest news, Law, Opinion, Subscriber content, Tourism  /  No Comments

This article is only available to Business Times subscribers Subscribers: LOG IN or REGISTER for complete digital access. Not a Subscriber? SUBSCRIBE for full access to our weekly newspaper, online edition and Book of Lists. Check the STATUS of your Subscription Account.

Read More →
Latest

Opinion: It takes guts to be a woman in politics

By   /  Friday, April 9th, 2021  /  Latest news, Op/Eds, Opinion  /  1 Comment

By Lois Phillipsand Anita Perez Ferguson Twelve women with different backgrounds and areas of expertise are advancing into top leadership roles in President Joe Biden’s Cabinet. Eight are women of color. As advisors to the president, they will be the first women ever to serve in key posts, including Treasury, Defense, and Veterans’ Affairs, all Read More →

Read More →
Latest

Opinion: Pandemic’s effect on the workforce hasn’t been equal

By   /  Thursday, April 8th, 2021  /  Banking & Finance, Banking Industry, Latest news, Op/Eds, Opinion, Women Inc.  /  No Comments

By Midge Campbell-Thomas According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, in December 2019 there were 109,000 more women working than men, occupying 50.04% of positions. However, once the pandemic evolved, thousands of women left the workforce to accommodate responsibilities brought on by stay-at-home orders, which left them as full-time caregivers According to the January Read More →

Read More →
Latest

Our View: Thousand Oaks takes smart route to growth

By   /  Friday, April 2nd, 2021  /  Editorials, Latest news, Opinion, Subscriber content  /  No Comments

Thousand Oaks Boulevard is getting a makeover with buildings like the one on the left becoming more like the one on the right.

This article is only available to Business Times subscribers Subscribers: LOG IN or REGISTER for complete digital access. Not a Subscriber? SUBSCRIBE for full access to our weekly newspaper, online edition and Book of Lists. Check the STATUS of your Subscription Account.

Read More →
Latest

Opinion: Tips for making it through the rest of the Zoom era

By   /  Friday, April 2nd, 2021  /  Latest news, Op/Eds, Opinion  /  No Comments

By Gerhard Apfelthaler After a full year of taking meetings, interviewing candidates, attending conferences, teaching classes or attending seminars via Zoom or similar online platforms, we all know: Zoom fatigue is real, and it is awful. While we are all thankful for videoconferencing technology, most of us have experienced that a regular eight-hour day on Read More →

Read More →
Latest

Opinion: Don’t tax California’s family businesses to death

By   /  Friday, April 2nd, 2021  /  Latest news, Op/Eds, Opinion  /  No Comments

By Ken Monroe In recent months, there’s been a lot of attention paid to some high-profile California businesses that have decided to move some or all of their operations to lower-cost states. Oracle, the second largest software maker in the world, is moving its corporate headquarters from Silicon Valley to Austin, while Hewlett Packard Enterprise—whose Read More →

Read More →