July 19, 2024
You are here:  Home  >  Latest news  >  Current Article

Business Times to honor 2021 Spirit of Small Business winners


The Pacific Coast Business Times will hold a virtual reception on Aug. 19 to honor the recipients of its 19th annual Spirit of Small Business Awards.

The 2021 Spirit of Small Business special section published July 23 and is available here at the Business Times website. To register for the event, which begins at 1 p.m. on Aug. 19, click here.

The Spirit of Small Business awards are presented by the Business Times in partnership with the Los Angeles office of the U.S. Small Business Administration. This year’s award winners are:

Green Business Award: A Place To Grow; founders Dana O’Brien and Sean O’Brien; San Luis Obispo

‘Never Say Never’ Award: George Powell; co-founder, Skate One; Santa Barbara and Ventura

Small Business Advocates:

• Dave Powers, Deckers Brands CEO and co-founder of the Better Together initiative
• Janet Silveria, president and CEO, Community Bank of Santa Maria
• Ekan Pehlivan and Cynthia Sherman, CSU Channel Islands

Community Spirit Award: Solutions on 2nd; CEO Megan DeCicco; Santa Ynez Valley

‘Make it Here’ Award: Jaxx Manufacturing; founder Greg Liu; Simi Valley

‘All in the Family’ Award: La Tolteca; Santa Barbara

New Economy Award: J. Davis Construction; CEO Jonathan Davis; Oxnard